Homepage / Academics / Sign Language Studies / Sign Language Studies Faculty

Sign Language Studies Faculty

Daniel McDougallDaniel McDougall, CSC | Bio
Chair and Associate Professor
B.A., Madonna University
M.A., Oakland University
Ph.D., in progress Heriot-Watt University
dmcdougall@madonna.edu
734-432-5618, 1405
Cheryl A. Airgood
SLS Instructor
B.A., Madonna University
M.A., Eastern Michigan University
M.A., Wayne State University
cairgood@madonna.edu
Jennifer Berrigan
Assistant Professor
B.S., Gallaudet University
M.A., Gallaudet University
jberrigan@madonna.edu
734-432-5619, 1405
Fr. Michael DepcikFr. Michael Depcik
SLS Instructor
B.A., Gallaudet University
M.A., Gallaudet University
M.Div., Ss. Cyril and Methodius Seminary
mdepcik@madonna.edu
Mary Ann DeVosMary Ann DeVos, BEI I
SLS Instructor
B.S., Eastern Michigan
M.Ed., Lewis and Clark College
mdevos@madonna.edu
Katie FitzpatrickKatie Fitzpatrick, NIC-A
SLS Instructor
B.S., Ferris State University
A.A.S., Oakland Community College
M.A., Gallaudet University
kfitzpatrick@madonna.edu
Marciano GongoraMarciano Gongora
SLS Instructor
B.A., Madonna University
A.S., Oakland Community College
mjgongora@madonna.edu
734-432-5617
Barbara Hinson, CSCBarbara Hinson, CSC
SLS Instructor
B.A., University of North Florida
bhinson@madonna.edu
Miriam HorwitzMiriam Horwitz, NIC
SLS Instructor
B.A., American University
M.A.I., Gallaudet Univeristy
Michael Meldrum, NICMichael Meldrum, NIC
SLS Instructor
B.S., Eastern Michigan University
M.A., Gallaudet University
mmeldrum@madonna.edu
Sharon MeldrumSharon Meldrum
Assistant Professor
B.A., Gallaudet University
M.A., Eastern Michigan University
smeldrum@madonna.edu
Bridget MitchellBridget Mitchell, BEI II
SLS Instructor
B.A., Madonna University
M.A. TESOL, Madonna University
brmitchell@madonna.edu
Leslie Pertz
SLS Instructor
B.A., Central Michigan University
A.S., Oakland Community College
lpertz@madonna.edu
Bretagne WhitfordBretagne Whitford | Bio
Assistant Professor
B.S., Rochester Institute of Technology
M.S., Rochester Institute of Technology
bwhitford@madonna.edu
734-237-3058, 1405

Daniel McDougall

Dan McDougall, CSC, is the chair of the Sign Language Studies department. He joined the full time faculty of Madonna University in 2007. He has been a certified interpreter since 1986, specializing in shadowed interpreting for the theatre. He founded TerpTheatre, and is an internationally recognized authority on interpreted theatre (see www.terptheatre.com). He has an extensive background in nonprofit program development and fundraising. He is an alumnus of the SLS department (1986), and holds an MA in Linguistics from Oakland University (1991). The SLS department awarded him Distinguished Alumnus in 2005. He teaches in the areas of interpretation, advanced American Sign Language, and linguistics.

Bretagne Whitford

Bretagne Whitford is an Assistant Professor in the Sign Language Studies department. Bretagne went to Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C. and Rochester Institute of Technology in Rochester, NY. In 2009, she graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Psychology with a minor in Business Administration and Public Policy. She continued on for her master’s degree in Deaf Education, acquired in 2011.

Amongst her education, she worked in a research lab and acquired her research interest in deaf children and the familial characteristics that would have an impact on their literacy. She also takes a fascination with ASL assessments and how to accurately document an individual’s ASL proficiency. She had a paper published in 2011 titled Deaf Individuals’ Bilingual Abilities: American Sign Language Proficiency, Reading Skills, and Family Characteristics in Psychology Journal (Vol. 2, No 1, 18-32).

She takes pride teaching sign language particularly, keen to the fact that she is their Deaf role model and provides the students with the appropriate mental and language framework as they enter the Deaf community.